Finally, built the one I wanted.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Finally, built the one I wanted.

I've been eyeing the Grendel for a few years, read all of the claims and drooled at the specs. I knew that the 6.5mm bullet had a long history for accuracy at moderate velocities and have personally felt the anguish of seeing what pushing it too hard can do to it's stability (I have a 1964 made Winchester Model 70 in .264 Win Mag). But this cartridge in the Ar platform? Man I wanted to crawl all over it.

I'm not a gun newb. I've been shooting since I was 3 years old. Shotguns, I wasn't a fan of, I was very good with a handgun (I've shot 1911's since 8 yoa and fell in love with them), but with a rifle I was always mediocre, except with military surplus with aperture sights. I could NOT get into shooting with a magnified optic. My eyes (which I later learned had an astigmatism) would become unevenly focused and I would get headaches. So, I ignored bolt-actions and other related longer range skills.

Then after many years in law enforcement as a law enforcement weapons instructor, I was able to convince my agency that having an armorer on staff was a good idea. I now have factory certifications in Glock, Remington 870 and 11-87 / 1100 and Armolite Ar15 / M16. I had already built two Ar15s from kits prior to the class and was hooked on it as a rather expensive hobby. I have never been impressed with the .223 / 5.56 mm, it was always too little of everything for what they wanted to do with it. Then I learned about the Grendel. Since then I've built 5 or 6 more but none in a cartridge that was what I wanted.