6.5 grendel deer load ?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 6.5 grendel deer load ?

I am new to the grendel world. I close to completing my AR. I would like to use it for this year deer season. I will be hunting Mule Deer in California as well as hogs. I am seeking information on a good load. Yes I do hand load my own.
    Chuck
  • longdayjake

I have fallen in love with the 100 grain barnes TTSX. I use 28 grains of AA2230 and I get about 2800 fps from my 20" barrel.

Comment

In my expierence, the Grendel shoots most accurate @ just over max listed loads. The "Sweet Spot" with grendel hunting bullets is generally around 120 grains , so I would go there first. For big game @ the edge of the Grendel envelope I like the 130 gr Swift Scirrocco II with 29 plus grains of BLC (2). (that load kicks harder than you would think!). I plan to work up a 100gr partition loading for this November.

Comment

I used the max load from AA website using 123gr Sierra Match Kings and Win748 powder. I made a marginal shot on a buck I thought was much farther away than I thought and the bullet did a great job of fixing my mistake.

Comment

I am also in the market for a good Whitetail bullet for my Grendel. I gave the 120gr Nosler BT a whirl this past season and I wasn't impressed with it's terminal performance. I going to give the Barnes TTSX at try this year, just need to decide on the 120gr or the 100gr.

Comment

• WldWldWest

My Deer load is 120BT 29gr. of TAC, I've yet to have one walk away! I've also had good results from SMK's on deer and Coyotes.

Comment

Originally posted by longdayjake View Post
              I have fallen in love with the 100 grain barnes TTSX. I use 28 grains of AA2230 and I get about 2800 fps from my 20" barrel.