What is the best die for reloading grendels

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What is the best die for reloading grendels

I am new to the Grendel and reloading, so I am trying to piece together a good system for the long run. Right now I have a neighbor that is a avid reloader and rifle shooter. He is going to teach me the art of reloading, but I have to buy the brass, powder, and dies for the Grendel. So, what die set will give me the most life of the brass. I see AA has the Redding and Hornady sets, but I have found other Redding bushing dies that cost a good bit more. Are the bushing dies worth the extra money?

Thanks

Forster

Comment

• bwaites
      • Mar 2011

Originally posted by Costa View Post
      I am new to the Grendel and reloading, so I am trying to piece together a good system for the long run. Right now I have a neighbor that is a avid reloader and rifle shooter. He is going to teach me the art of reloading, but I have to buy the brass, powder, and dies for the Grendel. So, what die set will give me the most life of the brass. I see AA has the Redding and Hornady sets, but I have found other Redding bushing dies that cost a good bit more. Are the bushing dies worth the extra money?

Thanks
      Yes.

Comment

Redding "S" type with 289 TiNitride bushing works for me. 288 bushing for hunting. Here is the link at Midway

Comment

I have Hornady dies, and I love them. Also, if you get the zip spindle, then you can get 100 free bullets with their rebate. If I could, I would trade out all my dies for Hornady. My first 50 rounds I loaded; had 3-4 that had .007-.008 runout, but I kept going, and the next 100 loaded, never had 1 over .003 in runout. Most all were within .001... When I say most, I mean about 90%+... I don't think you can go wrong with Hornady...

Comment