Just curious neckdown to 6mm

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Just curious neckdown to 6mm

Just curious to know, has anyone neckdown the 6.5 Grendel to a 6mm bullet? What are the performances?
  • StoneTower

Something like the 6mm AR Turbo?

Comment

• jwilson1985

its what the grendel came from ...from my understanding anyway

Comment

• LR1955
        Super Moderator
        • Mar 2011

Originally posted by Varoum View Post
        Just curious to know, has anyone neckdown the 6.5 Grendel to a 6mm bullet? What are the performances?
        VR:

Yes. I have been shooting a 6mm AR in High Power on and off for the last three years.

You won't find a cartridge that can be fired from an AR-15 frame that will outperform a 6 AR or 6 AR Turbo for High Power competition.

For the 6 AR, all you do is neck the Grendel brass down to 6mm. I think the 6 AR Turbo needs to be blown out.

LR1955

Comment

• StoneTower

What about the .243 WSSM? I would like a .25 WSSM. I almost purchased a really nice used 6.5 WSSM built by DTECH but due to the case length, bullets need to be seated too deeply in my opinion. For long range hunting with an AR15, Mike at Dtech says the .25 WSSM is king.

Originally posted by LR1955 View Post
          VR:

Yes. I have been shooting a 6mm AR in High Power on and off for the last three years.

You won't find a cartridge that can be fired from an AR-15 frame that will outperform a 6 AR or 6 AR Turbo for High Power competition.

For the 6 AR, all you do is neck the Grendel brass down to 6mm. I think the 6 AR Turbo needs to be blown out.

LR1955

Comment

You need special barrel extensions and bolts for the WSSM's. The 6mm AR Turbo is a practical cartridge for mag-feeding from Grendel mags, using standard AR15 barrel extensions.

Comment

• StoneTower

Originally posted by LRRPF52 View Post