X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • RookieYoter

Reloading Help!!!

Ok, Here is my problem.

I am new to reloading the Grendel. I did my research and got good stuff. Lapua brass, I started with 130 Gr. Berger VLD's and now I am trying 100 Nosler BT. Here is what is happening to me.

When I go to seat the bullet the shell holder doesn't contact the die, there is a 1/8 inch gap plus you can feel it(kind of bottom out) If you continue to push down on the handle of the press I completely crush the shoulder of the round. It totally removes the shoulder.... Now I have been reloading for years( mostly bolt action rifles, in various calibers) my gear is all good.(I hope) I have a Lee press, Lee dies( the Grendel came from AA) All the cases are trimmed to the proper length. Plus they are new, not goten into using the fired brass yet. I have about 20 rounds reloaded and all of them do not touch. I have taken the dies out, cleaned them and reset them and it keeps doing it. Please help. Any advise is appricated.
    Thanks

back the die out some. sounds like there is some contact somewhere in there. so back it out a turn or 2 and just screw the seating die down till you get the right length on the bullet.

Comment

Size a piece of brass, remove the lube. With no die in the press, Place this sized brass in the shell holder, raise the ram, screw the seating die into the press until you feel it contact the sized case. Back the die out of the press one full turn an lock it down. Now adjust your OAL with the seating stem.

Comment

Originally posted by mseric View Post
        Size a piece of brass, remove the lube. With no die in the press, Place this sized brass in the shell holder, raise the ram, screw the seating die into the press until you feel it contact the sized case. Back the die out of the press one full turn an lock it down. Now adjust your OAL with the seating stem.