lapua brass

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• lapua brass

Hi I am new in reloading and I got a new lapua brass from Alexander arms.
    my questions are

1. do i need to clean it (tumbler it in media)
    2. do i need to deburred/Chamfered it?
    3. do i need to re-size it, in midwayusa info says

"new, unprimed brass should always be resized before loading. This brass has undergone factory annealing which extends brass life, as a result of the annealing process the neck portion of the brass may be discolored until the case is cleaned. "

or please give a link for info,I try to search in the forum but cannot find any info

thanks in advanced
  • bwaites
    • Mar 2011

Lapua brass is on the small side of the requirements for Grendel brass, so resizing is not necessary, nor is cleaning. Because it bangs around in shipment, the casemouths might be dinged, so I run a sizer ball through before loading. I also chamfer and debur, but I know lots of guys who don't and have no problems.

So...no tumbling necessary, no resizing necessary, chamfer and debur if you want. Run a sizer ball through simply to round out the casemouths.

Comment

• txgunner00
      Chieftain
      • Mar 2011

same as above for me
      NRA life, GOA life, SAF, and TSRA

"I ask, Sir, what is the militia? It is the whole people, except for a few public officials. To disarm the people is the best and most effectual way to enslave them."

George Mason, co-author, 2nd Amendment.

Comment

Yep. Same here.

Comment

thank you guys I will do the same

Comment

I just load em' up and they work 100%. Good neck tension already, annealed, the most consistent brass you can buy on the market.

Comment