resizing 6.5 grendel to .243 LBC

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• resizing 6.5 grendel to .243 LBC

hey guys, hope i dont get yelled at for this but, I dont have a grendel yet. i just have a 20 inch dpms AR15. I have been looking at getting a grendel or 6mm AR and now just read about the .243 LBC.

I read the .243 LBC uses grendel brass but you use a 6ppc die to neck it down not running it all the way through the die. Ok so i am new to reloading...sort of. I have loaded hundreds of .223 but i always full length size. as well as full length size my 7-08 and .243. i have never done just neck sizing. Being that i already have a nice supply of .243 bullets, one of these 6mm grendels would be more interesting than a 6.5.

so could someone explain exactly how you would use a 6ppc die to partially size a 6.5 grendel to .243 LBC?

what is the advantage of .243 LBC over 6mm AR? is it cheaper? how do they compare as far as velocity with the same bullets? Are there a lot of people that can make them? thanks guys.
  • bwaites
    • Mar 2011

Originally posted by hydrotech View Post
    hey guys, hope i dont get yelled at for this but, I dont have a grendel yet. i just have a 20 inch dpms AR15. I have been looking at getting a grendel or 6mm AR and now just read about the .243 LBC.

I read the .243 LBC uses grendel brass but you use a 6ppc die to neck it down not running it all the way through the die. Ok so i am new to reloading...sort of. I have loaded hundreds of .223 but i always full length size. as well as full length size my 7-08 and .243. i have never done just neck sizing. Being that i already have a nice supply of .243 bullets, one of these 6mm grendels would be more interesting than a 6.5.

so could someone explain exactly how you would use a 6ppc die to partially size a 6.5 grendel to .243 LBC?