Measurement to datum line

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Measurement to datum line

What is the "spec" for both fired, and unfired Grendel cases when measuring to the datum line on the case shoulder using the Hornady "B" "350" gauge?

Is this measurement any different between the Grendel, 6.5 CSS, or the 264 LBC?

What are the measurements to the same datum line on the go, and no go gauges for Grendel/6.5 CSS/264 LBC?

I'm new to the 6.5 Grendel. I suspect that this relatively new cartridge has various chamber dimensions, shoulder angles, headspace dimensions, etc. Don't know this but I suspect.
    I measured factory Hornady 123 A-Max cases, fired cases from my J&T 24" HB upper, and new factory unsized Lapua cases with MY Hornady headspace gauge with the .350 insert. Multiple cases measured with repeatable various dimensions:

---Lapua factory new cases - 3.212" (some maybe 3.211 to 3.2115)
    ---Factory loaded Hornady 123 A-Max - 3.216-3.218"
    ---Hornady cases after being fired in my J&T upper- 3.225" average
    ---Only 2 Hornady factory cases that I've sized in my Forster Co-Ax with firm contact with the shellholder using my new Redding Full-Length die set---3.220"
    Confusing results! This is just a test of my components using my calipers and Hornady Headspace gauge with 350 insert. Looks like the Lapua cases either are sized shorter or the shoulder angle is a little different. The Hornady factory cases chambered and shot well in my upper. Your results may differ.
    Edited to add: cases measured with my new digital caliper (that I can zero with the tool attached) are in my following post.
    Last edited by Guest; 06-21-2011, 04:17 AM.

Comment

I'll have to convert your measurements so I can use them. My electronic calipers allow me to reset it to zero so I get don't have to subtract off the length of the Hornady tools. Thanks for the info...I'll go do some math now.

Comment