Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • devildog999

6.5 Grendel Primers

Quick question, I'm new to reloading 6.5 and noticed that the primer that seems most popular is the CCI450 Small Rifle. My confusion is that the primer pocket on my rounds seems larger like a Winchester WLR Large Rifle Primer would fit in there (granted I would never use those since they are a much more sensitive primer and don't want a slam fire). I just want to make sure that if I buy the 450 its gonna fit right. A forum I read a while ago said to use the CCI41 but they are too small for the pocket.

Thanks in advance for any help
  • bwaites
    • Mar 2011

Need to specify what brass you are using. Lapua/AA and Hornady use small rifle primers. Wolf and most 7.62x39 use large rifle primers.(7.62x39 must be necked down and fire formed.)

Comment

• devildog999

I am using fired wolf brass. That would explain the larger primer pocket. That being said, if I bought brass with the larger primer pocket, what do you guys think of the CCI41's? Already have 1000 of them so I would like to use them and I do like the fact that they are a harder primer due to them being fired from an AR platform.

Comment

Originally posted by devildog999 View Post
        I am using fired wolf brass. That would explain the larger primer pocket. That being said, if I bought brass with the larger primer pocket, what do you guys think of the CCI41's? Already have 1000 of them so I would like to use them and I do like the fact that they are a harder primer due to them being fired from an AR platform.
        The CCI41's are too small, they are small rifle primers, if your going to use that style CCI then you will want the CCI34, they are a large rifle primer and what I have switched to for the reformed IMI brass I have been using.

Greg

Comment

• devildog999

Sorry, I meant if I bought grendel brass with small primer pockets like Lapua or Hornaday, would the 41's be a decent choice.