Inertia pulling bullet when cartridge is loaded from magazine.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Inertia pulling bullet when cartridge is loaded from magazine.

Hi guys, this is my first post but I have been reading for a couple of months off and on.

I recently completed an 18in Grendel build and have just got around to doing some testing. Factory loads are scary accurate and I have found a reload recipe that seems promising.

I have been reloading for almost 30 years and have come across a problem I have not encountered yet. When my reloads are slammed into battery, the inertia of the bullet causes it to slide forward in the case neck. Occasionally far enough to stick in the rifling and then pull out of the case when the round is ejected by hand.

I have used a Hornady OAL tool and bullet comparator and am confident that the cartridges are not too long initially. I have also crimped the rounds to the point of collapsing the cartridge case and it still happens occasionally.

I am using Hornady dies and brass and Nosler ballistic tips.

I will be placing a call to Hornady tomorrow to ask their advice but I wanted to see if you guys have encountered the issue.

Options that I see are:
    1. Polishing the expander button to increase bullet tension.
    2. Ordering a custom factory crimp die from Lee Precision for $30. Not sure if they can make one for the Grendel.
    3. Reducing the speed of the buffer/ spring/ bolt cycle to reduce the inertia. Not sure about the viability of this but it seems like I have seen specialized buffers and springs.

What do you think?
  • mtn_shooter

I'm pretty positive LEE makes the factory crimp die for the 6.5 Grendel. I originally bought a LEE die set, before my Redding set, and IIRC it has the crimp die.

Option 1 also has some merit to it, but I would worry about concentricity.

Comment

• bwaites
      • Mar 2011

Lee makes a crimp die, I have one, have never used it.