Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • michaelmew

Reloading Press

I am finally able to purchase a reloading press (actually my wife is getting one for my bday.) I am new to reloading, so I can use any advise or tips I can get.

Based on what I've read online, I think that the best option would be a turret press. The time constraints with the single stage really turn me off. The lack of precision control with a progressive really turns me off. It seems like the turret combines a little of both. I don't like the idea of buying a single stage and then having to upgrade to a progressive to crank out pistol rounds that dont require as much precision later. Wouldnt turret be the solution?

So, if turret is the way to go, who makes a quality, not break-the-bank, model? Or does anyone know of a good sale that would make a high end one affordable?

If it makes and difference, I've got Dillion Type S dies for the grendel. I've got Lee dies for one of my pistol calibers and I'm not sure what for another caliber. I also want to expand to more pistol calibers and 30-30, .223/5.56, and a big bore like 450 Bush or 458 SOCOM or 50 Beo.

Any advice is apreciated.

-michaelmew
    Last edited by Guest; 07-22-2011, 10:00 PM.

Turret is definitely the way to go for precision rifle and single-stage reloading. It will allow you to have your de-priming/sizing die and bullet seating die for different calibers ready to go. I personally would lean to the Redding T-7 or the RCBS. If I was doing it again, I would buy the Redding T-7, as my friends' give the best feel and solid construction impression when re-sizing or loading on them. I'm not sure what the budget is, but Midway USA often has sales where you get 10% off of $100-$500 purchases.

Comment

• LR1955
      Super Moderator
      • Mar 2011

Originally posted by michaelmew View Post