What am I doing wrong?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What am I doing wrong?

I'm new to reloading and I keep running into problems with my reloads. When I try to chamber my rounds, the bolt doesn't close all the way and then its tough to eject the round. I basically have to hit the butt of the rifle on the ground and pull the charging handle to get the round out.

I know it has something to do with the shoulder of the brass but I don't know if I'm oversizing it or undersizing it. I've tried two different dies and presses but I have the same results with both. I basically pull the ram all the way up, screw in the die until it touches the ram, then lower the ram and turn in the die another 1/2 turn.

Here are some pics:

The round on the left a factory round and the one on the right is my reload. It may be hard to tell in the pic but it looks like the shoulder on the reload is flatter.

Do you have any suggestion or can you tell what's wrong?
  • Drifter
    Chieftain
    • Mar 2011

First, I suggest getting a case gauge so that brass can be checked after it's resized and before it's loaded. It will save you some headaches when you're ready to go shoot.

Otherwise, try "painting" a dummy round (with bullets, but no primer or powder) with a black sharpie before chambering. Examine an extracted round and look for marks, smears, shiny spots, etc to help determine which part of the case is problematic. ( I suggest single-feeding dummy rounds without the use of a magazine, so as to prevent unnecessary markings that are unrelated to the issue.)

My guess is that the shoulder isn't getting set back quite enough. If the test suggested above reveals this, try screwing your die down a little more (1/16 to 1/4 turn). Resize a few cases and try again with dummy rounds . Keep doing that until dummy rounds chamber and extract appropriately.