First trip to the range with a grendel

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First trip to the range with a grendel

I'm new to the 6.5 and am just beginning to work up some loads. My setup is as follows:
    20" saturn barrel;
    mega billet upper with side pull
    Paladin on/off gas block

First 3 shot grouping was with Hornady factory 123amax ammo.
    vel. 2493 with sd= 8. best group about .5"

first handloads were 123 scenar with 2520 in AA brass with CCI400 primer

30.3gr
    vel= 2515 with cci400
    vel= 2536 with cci450 sd=15

30.6gr
    vel=2493 / sd=20 and vel=2578 / sd=19 with cci 400
    vel=2556 / sd=11 with cci450
    best grouping about .7"

The weather changed from 80's and overcast to 90's and sunny as the velocity increased. Is 2520 that temperature sensitive, or was the difference likely chrony error?

Next up was BLC-2 with the scenar;

31.5gr
    vel=2458 / sd=19 and group size of .41

Final loading was 95 vmax with H4198

25.5gr
    vel=2717 / sd=0 group .7"
    25.8gr
    vel did not record, but group of .4 for 4 shots with #5 opened to .7

Overall, no pressure indications. I like the BLC-2 groupings, but would like more velocity. I plan to try some LVR when I get a chance to load some more. Data on another thread here looks promising. I spoke with Dave @ Hodgdon today and inquired as to any data with LVR. He said they had tested it in the grendel but it did not perform well enough. I suspect his statement may have been CYA.

Does anyone have any suggestions for changes to make with any of the previous loads?

Thanks!

Mark

Welcome MFH,

Yes 2520 is temp sensitive, so is BLC-2, and LVR.

I spoke with a Hodgdon rep last month and he told me they hadn't tried LVR with the grendel, I am certain if they had they wouldn't doubt its performance, for me it is doing better than 2520.

I would also recommend that you try IMR 8208, it is another great performer in the grendel.

Comment

• LRS_Ranger