Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Differences in Bullet Types

All,

I already posted a question about Sierra Pro Hunter bullets. But, sometimes it's all in the way you ask a question. So, let me rephrase to a more general question.

What is the difffernce when going from a boat tail bullet to a flat bottom bullet?? Every boat tail bullet I shoot using 30.5 grains of AA2520 shoots exceptionally well. But, if I go to a Spitzer / flat bottom bullet, will I be able to use the same charge weight or will the pressure change drastically or something.

I thought about just loading a few this way and giving it a shot. But, since I'm fairly new to reloading and have been using the same charges in the same bullets ever since I started loading, I feel I don't really have the knowledge or experience to start making educated guesses.

I am concerned about using the same load that I would use for a boat tail bullet and using it with a flat bottom bullet (never having done that before). I'm concerned that since there is actually less actaul surface material (in a flat bottom bullet) for the gasses to work against, that the pressures may actaully be higher with a flat bottom bullet. My theory here is that a boat tail bullet has more surface area for the gasses to work against since the bullet has a distinct taper. And, the boat tail bullet (in theory) would start moving down the barrel before a flat bottom bullet since there is more surface area for the gases to push against.

I would appreciate some input from some of the more experience reloaders here. Please let me know if I am even close, or if my theory is a load of crap.
    Last edited by Guest; 08-14-2011, 04:44 AM.

Originally posted by Mutt View Post
    All,

I thought about just loading a few this way and giving it a shot...snip...
    Whenever you change a component in a load, all else being equal, at a minimum, you drop back 10% and work up again.