• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Irbuff
    Bloodstained
    • Aug 2017

Nikon Black

Just curious if anyone on here has got one and what they thought. I know a lot of people here like vortex and I've got a vortex scope already as well as the range finder and binoculars but the nikkon black looks like a lot of scope for the money but I am no means a scope expert. Thanks!
  • dl126
    Bloodstained
    • Jul 2017

Disclaimer: I'm no scope expert either.

I have the 4-16x50 and the 6-24x50.
    Both in MOA with illuminated reticle.

My son-in-law has a Viper PST 6-24x50 FFP gen 1.
    Soda can at 450 yards.
    Both scopes side by side on the bench.
    Difference in glass was pretty much nil.
    Most noticeable was the time required to find and get on target.
    We both agreed that the eye box of the Nikon was larger making it quicker and easier to find that can and be on it.

I also had a Monarch 3 5-20x44.
    Just isn't in the same ballpark as the Black.
    Not nearly as much travel.
    And the standard BDC is pretty much useless w/o the Spot On app at the ready.
    MOA or MIL gives you many more options for apps and data output.

I briefly used a M223 4-16x42 BDC 600 as well.
    Much smaller eye box than the Black, and just too close to the price of the Black to justify it.

In an effort to show that I'm not completely biased ....
    I do have a Vortex 1-4x24 Crossfire 2 w/ V Brite on an AR47.
    No problems with it at all and it's a nice scope for the purpose.
    But I've yet to see first hand a reason to pay the additional $ that a Vortex costs over the Nikon.

Hope this is of some help.
    I simply don't have enough experience with scopes that cost more than $150 to say a lot.

Comment

• Kilco
      Chieftain
      • Jan 2016

My father picked one up for his 22 Nosler and I was extremely impressed with it for the money. Very similar to the viper PST minus the zero stop.

Comment

• Irbuff
        Bloodstained
        • Aug 2017