NOT Grendel but need some input. Re: popped primers.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • 1075 tech
    Warrior
    • Apr 2015

NOT Grendel but need some input. Re: popped primers.

My first AR build was a 5.56. 16" SOCOM profile nitrided barrel, 1/7, Carbine length gas. Upper was allegedly built/assembled by JSE but not bought from them.

I was using ZQI 62gr ammo. The first couple times shooting this rifle, I was getting ejector swipes on the brass as well as a few primers coming completely out of the pocket. Being an AR newbie, I initially wrote this off to a: break-in, or b: poor quality ammo.

Eventually, these problems resolved and further shooting had no problems.

Yesterday, these problems resurfaced. Primers coming out of pocket on ZQI ammo, WITHOUT ejector marks and also shot some Independence 5.56 55gr (FC brass). These exhibited some of the same signs as the original ZQI. Popped primers and heavy ejector swipes.

I had no pierced primers and this did not happen with every round.

Other than over pressure caused by chamber/barrel/bolt issues, can these symptoms be caused by over gassing? Thinking of replacing the standard buffer with a heavy buffer. Thinking bolt unlocking early?

Still learning.

BTW, my Grendel build functions well. Only a few cycling issues with Wolf Gold 120 MPT.
    Last edited by 1075 tech; 06-05-2016, 09:14 PM.
  • VASCAR2
    Chieftain
    • Mar 2011