Is my Lilja Chamber Throat Long & does it matter?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • brut28481
    Warrior
    • Mar 2016

Is my Lilja Chamber Throat Long & does it matter?

I have been working on my 5-shot groups with various loads for a few months, trying to get better, they are somewhat inconsistent. I also ran my first PRS match over the last weekend (wow that was a learning experience!) with the Grendel and was talking to 6mm BR guys about accurate reloading and that got me going to the ogive/bullet jump path. Summary, I measured my Lilja AR24 drop-in barrel lands-ogive with the hornaday OAL tool arriving with the following averages (6-8 measurements)

123 amax - COAL = 2.34, base-ogive=1.75
    107 SMK - COAL= 2.35, base-ogive= 1.75

Given all my loads are around the 2.25 COAL, base-ogive= 1.65 (123 amax), that gives me a jump of 0.1! Seems way over most recommendations of 0.02. Haven't messed with longer COAL yet. Looks like the AA Grendel mags are good to 2.8ish?

Lilja indicated this is a SAMMI Chamber, is it out of SAMMI spec?
  • ricsmall
    Warrior
    • Sep 2014

I had a bartlein barrel chambered by Templar custom and it was very close to your seating depths. It was saami as well. It was also the most accurate Grendel barrel I've shot so far. It shot from 76grain to 160 gr pills to almost same point of impact, with great accuracy out to 900 yards, and was never picky about loads. It was definitely long throated, but it was a hummer.

Richard
    Member since 2011, data lost in last hack attack

Comment

• Joseph5
      Warrior
      • Oct 2012