AA GSR Complete or AA Entry w/ Shilen upgrade?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Grendelseeker
    Bloodstained
    • Jul 2016

AA GSR Complete or AA Entry w/ Shilen upgrade?

Okay guys, my first thread started and I hope it's in the right place. I've done a fair amount of reading but only a keyboard barbarian at this point. So be easy on the newbie.

AR platform. So, I want to keep the weight down (and price, but I feel mission creep already setting in) but go the distance. 600 yards anyway, so likely a 20" tube. I want very sub-MOA accuracy @ 100, that's a must. Experienced handloader.

Not sure I can pull off a good build from scratch because I've never done one before so considering a completed upper. Looking at AA. So, I'd like to understand if I would have a more accurate rifle going with an AA Entry 20" Complete with a Shilen upgrade, or a GSR Complete, or would they be the same? (actually would go side charger for that price) Also, I'm attracted to flutes which the GSR has but Entry even with Shilen doesn't. Wondering as well how much weight the fluting drops. A lot of decisions, even with a completed upper. Probably do a brake in either case.

I'm guessing the gas block, bolt, maybe trigger and other parts of the GSR are of higher quality or tighter specs. but don't know that for sure.

$1140 vs $2050 Optioned, the Entry would be $900 less than the GSR.

Thoughts?
  • Klem
    Chieftain
    • Aug 2013

Originally posted by Grendelseeker View Post
    ...Also, I'm attracted to flutes which the GSR has but Entry even with Shilen doesn't. Wondering as well how much weight the fluting drops.

Thoughts?
    Lilja advertises the following weights for their fluted and non-fluted 17" M4 barrel'
    Non fluted; 2.18lbs
    Fluted 2lbs.

Not a lot of overall weight reduction (8%) but it depends how much meat comes off and how much you are willing to pay for about 10%.

Comment

• A5BLASTER
      Chieftain
      • Mar 2015