• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • TacHunter
    Unwashed
    • Sep 2016

New build ideas

I'm far from inexperienced with AR15's standard .5.56/.223 builds and have build my fair share of them. I recently decided to stray from my comfort zone and build a budget "plinking" .458 S, all though it was fun to build and a blast to shoot, it serves no purpose other than to give me laughs as my buddies rub their shoulder after getting behind it.

I am new to the 6.5 G world and after a bunch of research I decided not to build a .264 LBC, but to go with the 6.5. I just have some general questions for the build.

First off this build is going to be primarily for hunting. I want it to have the power and accuracy for up to 400-800 yards.

So this is what I'm going to build it off of.

For the lower, I'm going to stick to one of my favored builds
    Seekins Billet SBA15 Ambidextrous lower
    BCM LPK, or Strike Industries LPK
    CMC Drop in 3.5 lb trigger, or a Timney Comp Drop in, or if I really want to go pricey a single stage Elftman
    Fixed Luth-AR modular stack with a Spikes Buffter set.

As for the Upper... Not quite sure. So here are my questions.

Barrel:
    Dez vs. Odin vs. AA? I don't want to go cheap, but I'm not quite sure the budged will allow for getting a Lilja, Krieger or high end JP. I want to go with at the lowest a medium heavy contour, but would like to have a true HBAR. I want to stay inside th 18" range since (from what I've seen) the ballistics between an 18" and a 20" is about a 35-45 FPE difference @ 500 yards, but is still above the 900 FPE mark I want to maintain.

Upper reciever: I've heard some talk about staying with a billet upper pending on the size of your barrel. Since I want an HBAR I'm wondering if I should go with a billet, or go with a forged upper.