• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • PewPewPachew
    Unwashed
    • Jul 2017

Hello from ND

Hello all, I've been in the process of building a Grendel for a few months now. In my searches for information, I keep finding myself directed here, so I figured I should join the forum.

I'm no expert in regards to rifles, but I'd like to think I'm not completely incompetent. The same can go for reloading. I am however a novice to commercial AR-15s, and grendels in particular. My experience is mostly with service rifles, and a handful of commercial ar's owned by friends that I have fired.

Already in my build, I encounter two problems.

1.) Companies should include paper directions. I bought an AA piston kit, and don't have a DVD player on my computer. Felt like an idiot struggling to put a bolt with gas rings in it.

2.)This one is actually a genuine problem. Most if the info I found regarding CPD magazines looked promising. The 28rd mags I bought, absolutely won't insert when loaded.
  • terrywick4
    Warrior
    • Sep 2014

does load with less rounds in the mag? Just asking I have several mags that don't when full but take one or two out and they work fine.

Comment

• VASCAR2
      Chieftain
      • Mar 2011

Welcome to the forum PewPewPachew! I have no experience with piston systems on AR-15's and in regards to the CPD mags. Will the mags fit into the mag well of your AR-15? Most new magazines are very difficult to lock in place when loaded to full capacity.

As the previous poster mentioned down loading a couple of cartridges helps to be able to lock a mag into the well. If the loaded mag will not fit into the mag well it is possible your lowers mag well is out of spec. It's also possible you got an out of spec mag body.