• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • todd458
    Bloodstained
    • Jul 2017

Lighter high end optic

I am having a rifle being built now . It Will have a 20 inch Bartlein barrel. Looking for the lightest scope possible, price is not a concern. Will be used for target and hunting. Barrel will be medium/heavy contour at 20 inches . I'm trying to find some weight savings. I'm thinking no more than 18 power, I guess a little less if I can get that perfect scope at a very good weight? I was told to forget about the Germans as they are inherently heavy? The rifle is going to be expensive and I do not want to skimp on the scope,but I am trying to keep it to a weight that I can walk and stalk at least a mile or two. Any and all suggestions would be much appreciated. I'm somewhat new to the AR platform, and all my scopes were purchased in the 80s and early 90s. Wow! How these optics have changed Thanks in advance
  • Kilco
    Chieftain
    • Jan 2016

I know you said money wasn't an object, but can you give a budget range you would like to stay with? That will help narrow things down... otherwise my post will be a darn book lol

Is illumination something you require?

What kind of reticles do you prefer?

Moa or mrad?

Is this a primary hunting rig with some long range plinking on the side? Or a long range plinker that you can also hunt with on the side? 50/50 do all?

What kind of hunting do you plan on doing? Varmints, where high magnification and a small reticle/SFP would be ideal?
    Or large game where most shots present themselves at low light, where a highly visible reticle, field of view, and low light transmission are priority?
    Last edited by Kilco; 08-05-2017, 03:29 AM.

Comment

• todd458
      Bloodstained
      • Jul 2017