• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Shorthairedtornado
    Unwashed
    • Aug 2017

First grendel build

Hello guys, this is my first time building an AR, a decided I'd like to build my version of a mk12 or spr. I'd like this to be a high end build and I'm open to suggestions. I'd like to use as much carbon fiber as possible and make it as lite weight as I can. What started this was a hand guard I purchased thinking it was for an ar 10 , turned it it was for a 15. He handguard is a Christensen arms carbon fiber. I'd love to attach pics if someone can explain to me how.
  • StoneHendge
    Chieftain
    • May 2016

It's your money, so I'm getting a Proof Research carbon fiber barrel
    Let's go Brandon!

Comment

• Shorthairedtornado
      Unwashed
      • Aug 2017

That's what I was thinking, anyone have any experience with eisenach arms? They have a nice looking side charge upper for sale

Comment

• js8588
        Warrior
        • Jul 2017

Originally posted by Shorthairedtornado View Post
        That's what I was thinking, anyone have any experience with eisenach arms? They have a nice looking side charge upper for sale
        For the weight (9oz vs 10 on the Lantac and 11 for the Mega), Eisenach would be the way to go. CMT has a 7oz side charging upper but they're out of stock at the moment ($72 cheaper than Eisenach, though if you don't mind waiting).

I'll be buying 2 of Eisenachs nitrided BCGs as soon as I sell some C&R stuff.

Get yourself a nice ambi lower. Rainier Arms makes a very nice one with build in ambi bolt release and mag release. CMT also makes one that is logo/rollmark free but it's half an ounce heavier than Rainier's. Mega makes the lightest ambi lower but it doesn't have the built in ambi mag release. Not a huge deal since you can just pick one up from High Velocity Arms.