• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Jk2paintworx
    Unwashed
    • Aug 2017

Best magazine?

I am new to the 6.5 and working on a build. What mag functions best in this platform? I was gonna get one of the E lander mags that AA sells. Good?
  • VASCAR2
    Chieftain
    • Mar 2011

I like the Elander 17 round mag for the 6.5 Grendel but some people complain because a loaded mag rattles when not locked into the mag well. The AR Stoner mags have been ASC brand with a different floor plate. The Alexander Arms marked mags from a couple years ago were also ASC mags with an AA floor plate. AA supposedly inspected their branded ASC mags as certain batches of 6.5 Grendel mags have had issues.

My recommendation is to buy 6.5 Grendel mags from a reputable retailer as all the mags have had a troublesome mag slip through. I have yet to try any of the C Products Defense high capacity mags with the curved body. I have a few of the original C Products and ASC mags and most people report fewest problems with the 9-10 round mags regardless of brand.

Comment

• LRRPF52
      Super Moderator
      • Sep 2014

I like the Elander 17rd mags as well, but have had consistent, reliable results with my CProducts Defense mags from the start.

The straight-bodied 15rd mags were never meant to be made that way, and should have been destroyed or recycled, but were poured onto the market after being rejected by AA in the beginning.

Bill Alexander looked at the case taper of the Grendel when specifying the magazine body shape and dimensions, and determined that you really do need a curved magazine when you exceed 10rds capacity. For some reason, pallets of straight-bodied 15rd mags were sent to him, which he tried anyway, but of course failed and were sent back.