• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Jk2paintworx
    Unwashed
    • Aug 2017

Looking for best factory loads

I am building a new Coyote hunting rifle and looking for a head start on factory ammo to test. The barrel is a 1/8 twist 18" Lilja. I have a lot of partial boxes of .223 that I use to determine what each rifle likes best but I'm new to the 6.5 so I am starting from scratch. I picked up a box of Hornady black but so far that's it. It will be exclusively used for coyote hunting and occasional trip to the range for practice. My goal is to accurately DRT Coyotes since most of my hunting is for ranchers.
  • Double Naught Spy
    Chieftain
    • Sep 2013

Were you not happy with the Hornady Black? I assume it was 123 gr. ELD Match, yes? If not, give it a try. I found it to be very accurate from my rifle and it did do a number on coyotes.
    Kill a hog. Save the planet.
    My videos - https://www.youtube.com/user/HornHillRange

Comment

• VASCAR2
      Chieftain
      • Mar 2011

Depending on how far you intend to shoot coyotes and if your concerned about pelt damage can affect your choice of projectile. The Federal 90 grain TNT and Hornady 123 grain Black ELD-M will probably be the cheapest. Precision Firearms sells ammo loaded with the Nosler 100 grain Ballistic tip in Lapua brass. PF also sell loads with 100 & 108 grain Scenar which are target loads and might extend your range. I'm not sure how much pelt damage you'll get with the match Scenar bullets. I suspect the Scenar may exhibit inconsistent results where some shots the bullet might act like a FMJ with small entry and exit wounds. Other projectiles might tumble and fragment especially on larger yotes and create significant pelt damage.