• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Wafavre2
    Warrior
    • Feb 2017

Help with a thermal scope

Hi All,

I am thinking about getting a Thermal Scope for my AR15 Grendel. I have a budget of $6,500.00 to include a DVR recorder and external battery. I have been studying the Armasight Zues 640 3x75 30hz. If you don't mind give me your thoughts on this one and recommend something else if you think it's better. Also recommend a dealer that you would deal with. I plan on using this for Hogs and vermin to about 300 yards

Thanks,

Will
  • Bigs28
    Chieftain
    • Feb 2016

I have no experience with thermals but optics planet is a good place to check a price on. I would call them to. I've always received a lower price calling then what is posted on their website.

Comment

• Wafavre2
      Warrior
      • Feb 2017

Thanks Bigs28!

Comment

• Double Naught Spy
        Chieftain
        • Sep 2013

Wafavre2, I am a thermal user and 'pro staff' for Third Coast Thermal. I don't do sales and don't keep up with prices. So I may be a little off on my suggestions, but this will give you some thoughts.

The Armasight Zeus 640 3-24x75 will work for you. I would not suggest the HD version as I don't feel they add value for the additional expense (assuming they are in your price range). Note that these are a 17 micron scope.

With that said, FLIR purchased Armasight. FLIR has come out with their new Thermosight Pro line. They have only released the low end model(s) but higher end units are coming and they appear to be competitively priced. They have a built in DVR (but no sound). I understand they do have a video out port so you could do an external recorder such as you would use with the Armasight. However, you might be waiting until the end of the year for one, but these are 12 micron scopes.

Generally speaking, everything else being the same better images tend to come from...
        Higher native magnification
        Larger objective lens
        Smaller number of microns