• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Frontier Gear
    Warrior
    • Nov 2017

12 inch Group Buy Pistol Transformation

Like others, I am new to the Grendel but am very impressed. It is such a great round for what my needs are (low recoil, mid power, flat shooting, long range accuracy, AR15 based). My "truck" gun has been a 300blk pistol with a 7 inch barrel which has suited me well as a 100 yard "coyote getter". It is now getting upgraded with the 12" group buy Grendel barrel. This should push my range well past the 100 yard mark. I don't have the funds on hand to make all the upgrades that I want right away, but here is the list of future upgrades.

Barrel and bolt from this forum's group buys (Thanks again BluntForceTrauma)
    Flip up BUIS replaced with a Redfield 2-7x33mm with the Accu-Range reticile
    Griffin Armament M2 45 degree sights added
    Mil-spec Trigger Group replaced with a JMT Saber drop in trigger
    Standard A2 grip replaced with a BCM Mod 0 Grip
    7inch hand guard replaced with 10 inch

The rest of the parts that are staying the same includes:
    Kak arm brace
    Polymer80 lower
    BCA side charging upper

Here is the before picture.

300blk.jpg
    Engineer, FFL and Pastor
  • Frontier Gear
    Warrior
    • Nov 2017

Decided to keep the 300blk upper and just make a new one for the Grendel barrel. I still like the 300blk and want to keep it around. So I ordered a standard Grendel upper and BCG from Bear Creek as well as a hand guard. Also, while the JMT trigger has great reviews, it looks to have one achilles heel... light primer strikes. Which appears to only be a problem on 22lr and steel case ammo. Since the 6.5 Grendel plinking ammo is steel cased, I'll probably be installing a Velocity 4lb steel case trigger instead. The last thing that I am contemplating is swapping out the lower receiver from the Polymer80 to an Aero Precision M4E1 lower so I can remove any potential wobble between the lower and upper.