6.5 Grendel Buffer Change?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 6.5 Grendel Buffer Change?

Hey im new to the 6.5 Grendel and looking at creating an upper for the AR-15 platform. I have a couple questions about necessary parts. First off, will the stock buffer for a 5.56 round be compatible or will i need to change it out for a different weight?
  • leopard6.5

AzSooter: It depends on what kind of 5.56 buffer you have.

If you have the full size buffer from a rifle length buttstock you should be good to go with that buffer and spring.
    However, if you have a collapsible or carbine buttstock, the buffer will probably be too light.

Hopefully I have my weights correct for you and someone feel free to correct me if I'm wrong.
    The rifle buffers weigh approx. 5.2 ounces while the carbine buffers weigh around 4 ounces.

If you have a carbine buttstock you can put in a heavier buffer like the one from Spikes to help slow down the action.

The other thing that helps is having a true M16 Bolt Carrier instead of the lighter AR-15 version.
    The M16 Bolt Carrier weighs more than an Ar-15 Bolt Carrier.

Good Luck and keep those questions coming.

Lee

PS- Welcome to the Horde!

Comment

• Drifter
      Chieftain
      • Mar 2011

Several variables come into play, so difficult to say with certainty. Might be a good idea to try what you have first. Pay attention to function, reliability with ammo you plan to use, "feel" (or smoothness of operation), and ejection pattern. The rifle's behavior will often tell you what it needs for fine-tuning.

All that being said, it's usually recommended (if starting from scratch) to use an M16 bolt carrier and H3 carbine buffer, especially if the gas system is midlength. If using a rifle-length buffer system, the standard buffer often works fine. I like the Tubb / SSS flat wire buffer spring regardless of buffer weight and tube length.