Clear All
  • jwilson1985

The Grendel and its variations

• txgunner00
    Chieftain
    • Mar 2011

Is this only for 6.5 variants?
    NRA life, GOA life, SAF, and TSRA

"I ask, Sir, what is the militia? It is the whole people, except for a few public officials. To disarm the people is the best and most effectual way to enslave them."

George Mason, co-author, 2nd Amendment.

Comment

• Drifter
      Chieftain
      • Mar 2011

6.5 SAOD is another variant. Supposedly a .295" neck similar to the .264 LBC but with more taper, and a double angle throat with less free bore.

I am a newbie to thes forum and I have a question and this forum seems the most likely place to get an answer. I just bought a SAOD upper. Does anyone know what chamber it has, Grendel, LBC, SAOD. I bought it as a Grendel but now I'm not so sure. SAOD's website only lists LBC & SAOD. I gather the only differences are in
      Last edited by Drifter; 03-15-2012, 05:48 AM.
      Drifter

Comment

I ordered my barrel from Lothar-Walther right after the Grendel went 'SAAMI.' Woody told me they were "6.5 CSS" but gave me the option of either .295 or .300 for the neck diameter. Since I opted for the .300 neck I think I'm Grendel in everything but the name.

Comment

Is "6.5 Sporter" a generic name for one of the above, or its' own dimensions?

Comment

• Drifter
            Chieftain
            • Mar 2011

6.5 Gren Match is listed on Pac-Nor's wildcat page. Don't know any details about it.

Drifter

Comment

Just from this thread that's 7 Grendel variants, no wonder the confusion. All these since the introduction of the Grendel 10 years ago. Hopefully, now with the SAAMI standardization, the makers of these variants will move the the Grendel specs.

These variants should fade away and we should encourage barrel makers to use the SAAMI specs. It's like buying American, the Hordes and is circle of influence should buy Grendel.

Comment

• jwilson1985