My New Savage 6.5 Grendel Build !

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My New Savage 6.5 Grendel Build !

I just bought a used, but in new condition SA Savage, I will get it out of gun jail in a little over a week.

I called Effie at Savage and ordered the bolt face, follower spring, and box mag case for a 7.62x39.

Also ordered a Boyd's Tacticool stock.

I will be ripping the gun apart soon as I get it, I will bead blast the receiver and cold blue.

I'll be buying a 28" barrel from McGowen in a 1/8 twist in a Douglas 7-W profile ... big but not to heavy.

Is there anything I've left out ?

What bases would you put on, I have one piece, but do I really need 20moa base on this gun ?

I plan on some target shooting, 400-800 yard gong shooting, that type of thing.

Next step is dies and powder ....any ideas ?

I'm making a nice functional gun, but not going to spend huge bucks on fancy stocks, custom bolts, that type of thing ... BTW, this is my first build :-)

Thanks guys.

wll

Just ordered a matte large handle bolt, and a ground barrel lug !

If all things go together well, this should be quite a shooter

wll

Comment

That's going to be a monster target barrel for sure.

Your base needs will depend on your scope elevation travel. Most of the high-end scopes don't really need a 20 MOA base for within 1000yds. You should be able to push the 130gr VLD up to about 2680fps with a 28" barrel and the right powder.

BjornF16 is getting 2585fps with the 129gr Interbond from his 20" Savage using CFE223. In the bolt action, you are able to take advantage of the Grendel case's 60,000 psi pressure capability, but slower-burning powders can help keep peak pressure down.

At 800yds with the 123gr A-MAX going 2750fps, you will only have 6.7 mils of elevation at sea level, 59 F. What State do you live in? This rifle will be capable of reaching well past 1000yds, so you might consider an MOA cant base for when you find an opportunity to shoot at farther ranges.