Superlite Grendel Build (spend my money!)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Variable
    Chieftain
    • Mar 2011

Superlite Grendel Build (spend my money!)

Something showed up at the shop today...

Balios-Lite goodness.

This'll be my build thread I guess, since I've never done a build thread before, I'm making it up as I go. This one will probably take a good while, since it'll involve a new suppressor, and it'll be a short barreled rifle as well. I can cheat though- I have a registered DIAS as well as other already registered lowers I can use to check function, assembly, etc, til the form 1 comes back on the Balios lower.

Anywhoo, to make it simpler I'll break it into halves. I'll request input on the upper and lower seperately.
    Life member NRA, SAF, GOA, WVSRPA (and VFW). Also member WVCDL. Join NOW!!!!!
    We either hang together on this, or we'll certainly HANG separately.....
  • Variable
    Chieftain
    • Mar 2011

LOWER

Balios-Lite lower receiver build for a suppressed 12.5" SBR Grendel carbine.

I'm thinking a lot of V7 parts, maybe an LWRC UCIW stock, Geissele SSA-E, Magpul K grip. What am I missing?

Anything better than V7? Best place to order V7 (for best savings?)

ETA: I know the complete UCIW stock will weigh more than an old CAR Fiberlight, but I might remove the weights from the UCIW buffer, or maybe try Taccom's delrin buffer set. I'd have to shorten them to get them to work, but it might be worth it.
    Last edited by Variable; 08-08-2014, 11:03 PM.

Comment

• Variable
      Chieftain
      • Mar 2011

UPPER

Just a placeholder for now. I'll be waiting on a Lilja 12.5" group buy barrel hopefully. If not, then I'll go elsewhere.

Balios-Lite Upper receiver

At present it looks like a 10" BCM KMR rail.

Haven't made up my mind on the port door.

I'm hoping to use a Spike's Ti bolt carrier. If they don't actually release the dang thing I may go Boomfab.