• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • skitty4gzus
    Unwashed
    • Aug 2014

First time building AR platform, need advice

Just as the title says I'm new to building AR's, and the 6.5 Grendel. I have a seekins forged lower receiver already and I've been researching and I just want to put out some feelers to see what advice I can get. I'm not lazy and I'm willing to read anything for information as well so if your advice is to go read xxxxxxxx publication or forum or whatever I will. Just looking for specific information here as I'm building a Grendel for this AR. I was thinking of purchasing a matching seekins forged or billet upper, I'm not sure what difference it will make to me. Next, I've read to spend the money on a barrel. So I would like opinions on barrels as well. What gas block, sight etc.... My plans for the gun are to be able to deer hunt in MI with it and whatever game I may choose. It would be nice to have something shoot out to 1000 yds, but the reality is I just need it to be accurate to 500 yds or so. My pockets aren't deep but I'm willing to save to purchase the right equipment to create the weapon system I desire. I can always take this gun down 5 years from now and upgrade the barrel or whatever I need to do down the road. Some of the information I'm really after is for instance the barrel. I would like it to be drop in ready for the SAAMI Grendel specs. I may end up reloading down the road but I would like to be able to purchase off the shelf ammo and be able to shoot and if I want I could reload that. Any help would be appreciated as I am need of a lot of it. Thanks
  • ThatRandomGuy
    Bloodstained
    • Dec 2013

Hey there! I'm mainly a lurker, but I'll share what I've gleamed from these guys so far.

Forged vs billet probably won't make a difference, you could save a few ounces going forged but be a little stiffer to "better" support a longer barrel with billet. Seekins makes good stuff either way.