6.5 grendel ammo gauge different from chamber?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • usar_ds
    Bloodstained
    • Aug 2014

6.5 grendel ammo gauge different from chamber?

hay all,

so I believe my ammo gauge Is dimensionaly a little off from my actual rifle chamber, gauge is marked sheridan engineering. compared to my chamber it seems a little shorter on max case length, slightly tighter at the base, and with the shoulder just a hair farther forward than my chamber.

first a little background.

I am very new to reloading.

have been shooting grendel since 2009 i have an alexander arms 16" tactical

I have been running mostly factory loads first AA 123gr lapua scenars, and then when that got too expensive wolf mpt.

the past 2 years I have been mostly blowing through my large stockpile of MPT (i now have a big pile of brass) but with the stockpile getting low i have decided to finally get off my ass and learn to reload. I am using lee dies and an ammo gauge I got from AA that's marked sheridan engineering.

so after some initial issues with inconsistent re-sizing that I believe was due to not enough case lube. I have noticed that my case gauge seems a little off from my chamber.

when I first began resizing cases I was getting about one out of 4 cases that were slightly expanding at the base, or some that were bumping back at the shoulder a little bit. after doubling up on the lube the problem went away (stopped expanding at the base and shoulder stayed were it should on all cases so far).

the cases that are slightly expanded at the base would not gauge, but would chamber and extract freely, i even measured the bases before resizing and it was definitely expanding during resizing. so it seems the gauge to be a little tighter than the chamber at the base