• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • sal.p
    Unwashed
    • Nov 2014

3 yr old hunting

thinking of taking my son deer hunting but he is only 3. Its my first time going but I am going with a very experienced person what ya think is that to early.
  • montana
    Chieftain
    • Jun 2011

Originally posted by sal.p View Post
    thinking of taking my son deer hunting but he is only 3. Its my first time going but I am going with a very experienced person what ya think is that to early.
    If this is your first time hunting I would leave him at home so you can focus on what you need to focus on. I would give you a resounding no for an answer.

Comment

• am4966
      Chieftain
      • Jul 2014

I took my son his first time with me he was about 4-5 and he sat with me in the blind. Did a pretty good job of listening to what I needed him to do too!
      12.5" SBR Grendel - Need Barrel
      Surge - Rugged Suppressor
      Been a fan of the Grendel from the very beginning and haven't second guessed that choice one time.

Aim small, miss small!

Comment

• sal.p
        Unwashed
        • Nov 2014

nice thans for rply and reason I want to take him I only see him about twice a year we live in different states. so trying to make as many moments as I can with him

Comment

• Slappy
          Warrior
          • Feb 2014

Hate to be a fly in the ointment but,,,, don't go deer hunting!! Simple, plenty of deer out there they are not going anywhere. BANG BANG!!

Comment

• Double Naught Spy
            Chieftain
            • Sep 2013

At three, he won't remember hunting and he won't be hunting. You will be babysitting in a stand. If you are hunting, you won't be making memories with him so much as you will be hunting with him as an aside.

I understand you only see him a couple of times a year, but telling him to be quiet and sit still for hours at a time isn't building memories.

If you do take him out, then be a responsible adult and get him some hearing protection.