Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • WildBill3/75

Resized brass will not chamber

I'm new to reloading and am using a Forster FLS die. After resizing the cases measures 1.519" but will not chamber in the rifle. What am I doing wrong?
  • mongoosesnipe
    Chieftain
    • May 2012

you are not bumping the shoulder the die is not set down far enough
    Punctuation is for the weak....

Comment

• WildBill3/75

I've raised the ram 100% then screw the die down tell it touched the shell holder.

Comment

• pds
        Warrior
        • Dec 2012

Originally posted by WildBill3/75 View Post
        I'm new to reloading and am using a Forster FLS die. After resizing the cases measures 1.519" but will not chamber in the rifle. What am I doing wrong?
        WB,
        We could use more detailed info! Are these new (unfired cases) or fired cases? Empty or seated bullets in them? 6.5 Grendel or 7.62x39 cases?

PDS

Comment

• WildBill3/75

Thanks for the responses.
          They are once fired cases from hornady 123gr factory ammo I was shooting. I deprimed, tumbled them, let them dry, sprayed them with hornady one shot and sized them with the ram all the way up and the die screwed down tell it touched the shell plate.
          For the chambering;They are empty brass, just resized. I attempted to test fit in the chamber of the Grendel with the ejector removed from my bolt. That's when the bolt would not lock shut.

Comment

• bwaites
            • Mar 2011

Turn the die down until it touches, then 1/8 turn more and check. If it won't chamber, go 1/4 turn and try. If it won't chamber, then you may have a problem with a mismatched shell holder and die. In that case, the shell holder won't allow the die to completely resize the case.

That has happened in the past, and people have had to take their shell holder to a machine shop and have .005 machined off.

Comment

• WildBill3/75