<1500fps loads for short range steel targets?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • howl
    Warrior
    • Nov 2015

<1500fps loads for short range steel targets?

I'm trying to decide between getting a 9mm carbine or Wolf Grendel upper. The sticking point is whether I can load for the Grendel slow enough to use on my steel targets at close range.

I don't need subsonic. I read through those threads. I need fast enough to not bounce back and slow enough to not damage the targets at 12 yards. Anyone been through this?
  • HillclimberCR500
    Bloodstained
    • Jun 2016

Why not a 300 blk 6.5 seems kind of a waste of money for 12 yds. or better steel targets. Not that I'm not all for spending money on wants instead of needs. I built my 6.5 cuz I was bored and wanted a winter project. That being said I suppose you could sbr a grendel and load heavy bullets to make it go that slow. But I'm just guessing at that I'm no expert

Comment

• JASmith
      Chieftain
      • Sep 2014

Try searching for the subsonic load thread.

A bunch guys tried getting subsonic while still being able to cycle the action.

Some of their "failures" were loads that would cycle but weren't quite slow enough to be subsonic.
      shootersnotes.com

"To those who have fought and almost died for it, freedom has a flavor the protected will never know."
      -- Author Unknown

"If at first you do succeed, try not to look astonished!" -- Milton Berle

Comment

• mdewitt71
        Warrior
        • Dec 2016

I would never spend the $$$ or the time shooting a rifle at steel at 12 yards....for safety, for money, and no challenge.
        But, I guess that is just me.
        PCC (Pistol Caliber Carbines) are my favorite right now and I usually keep them out to 50 and beyond as any shorter is pretty much a cake walk.
        ― George Orwell

Comment

• cory
          Chieftain
          • Jun 2012

At that range why not just buy an air rifle?