• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • giannid
    Bloodstained
    • Sep 2018

Question on using a Sinclair mandrel for uniform neck tension

So I've been reloading for awhile now and I've been hearing about taking out the expanding ball out of your dies. As reloaders, I think all of us have had some neck tension problems in the past whether we've know it or not. Sizing with a FL die without the expander and running a sinclair mandrel die makes sense to me. I'm not the type of guy who's going to spend time turning the necks on my cases so I think this is the next big thing. I've never done it like this before but I'm going to try it with the 6.5 Grendel as the cartridge is new to me and I'll be loading for it soon. Do you need a bushing type die for this or is it better to just use a quality full length die for this as the neck size is really finished with the mandrel? Any lube like graphite use on the inside of the case when using a mandrel? What mandrel are you guys using for the 6.5 grendel? Looks like Sinclair offers 3, the carbide one, stainless steel expander and stainless steel neck turning. Not sure what the difference would be between them.
  • Randy99CL
    Warrior
    • Oct 2017

With an everyday sizing die the neck is squeezed down to some small dimension and then opened again with the expander. Works the neck more than necessary and sometimes forces the neck out of alignment with the case body.

With a bushing die (with no expander) the neck is only squeezed down a few thousandths (which you control with the size of the bushing) to ensure consistent neck tension. Should increase accuracy and brass life.
    "In any war, political or battlefield; truth is the first casualty."

Trump has never had a wife he didn't cheat on.

Comment

• Klem
      Chieftain
      • Aug 2013

A Forster FL die without using the expander gives .003-.004:" neck tension with Lapua brass.

Comment

• centerfire
        Warrior
        • Dec 2017