• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Desert Demon
    Unwashed
    • Dec 2020

16" 1:7 Recommended Load

Hi, I am new to reloading for the Grendel. I had it in the back of my safe and want to get it tuned up. I have RL-15, Varget, and CFE223 on hand. Are there any good recommended loads with those i should start with?

I have gone over Noslers and Hodgdon's data. But looking to see if anyone has had particularly good results from a 16" barrel.

Also--i have had the reloading manual on backorder for a few months.....

Thanks
    Last edited by Desert Demon; 01-11-2021, 06:27 AM.
  • Klem
    Chieftain
    • Aug 2013

Hi Demon,

Thanks for reaching out.

We can run a few computer simulations using Quickload and your powders, but not knowing the bullet means it's only general advice.

Varget is a bulkier slower powder more suited to larger capacity cases like .308 and Creedmore. With the Grendel and Varget you will reach case capacity before you reach SAAMI peak pressure limit. This means the powder is 'inefficient' relative to other, faster powders. You can use it, but you will have loads typically around the 48K lbs pressure mark when the calibre can take up to 52K lbs. This translates into lower velocities, especially with a short 16" barrel. I wouldn't use Varget in Grendel unless I had a long 30" barrel.

RL15 is more efficient than Varget but not by much. Same issues apply.

CFE223 is your best bet and there are threads here that use it for particular bullets.

Given your barrel is short at 16" all three powders will not be 100% burnt by the time the bullet exists. It will be in the vicinity of 90-94% burnt.This means the rest burns outside and that means a flame out the front, but with CFE you will not lose velocity compared to more efficient powders like H4895 and 8208. If you use a suppressor that flame will not be friendly to the insides, but again, not too bad, only from a long term wear perspective.
    Last edited by Klem; 01-11-2021, 09:37 AM.