• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Frogeye
    Unwashed
    • Jan 2022

Brass trim length

Hey folks, newbie here, want to say hi and enjoy your posts.Just built my first 6.5 grendel and need to load up some hunting/shooting rounds. Haven't loaded anything in 30+ years. So here's where I'm at.

Shot 2 boxes of hornady 123 eld match, mainly adjusting gas block and scope. Did no measuring on the fired brass. Deprimed and tumbled and then measured. Cases were 1.524" to 1.534", first thought was this was due to resizing. Was trying to decide what length to trim to. Was able to fire 2 more rounds (at a deer) only found 1 brass. It measured 1.524". I know I need a few more unfired for measurements but off the top of your heads what trim length should I be looking at? I see no reason to go with 1.510" as per my hornady manual. The case lengthening has to be from the chamber, my guess? Thanks for any help, and it's a ar build, 20" bbl.
  • mdram
    Warrior
    • Sep 2016

max is 1.52, trim to is 1.51 per hornady
    just some targets for printing
    https://drive.google.com/drive/folde...xQ?usp=sharing

Comment

• Frogeye
      Unwashed
      • Jan 2022

Yes, that's what I saw, I just don't see a need to trim to 1.51. My mind can't justify it if it comes out fired at over 1.52. My thinking is I'll have less case life than if I only trimmed to 1.52. That's why I threw this out there to you guys, yall know more about the grendel and reloading than I do. I just want every round to go bang and go reasonably close to where I want it to go.

Comment

• Csitt
        Bloodstained
        • Sep 2021

Originally posted by Frogeye View Post