• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • 6.5RugerAmericanRanch
    Unwashed
    • Nov 2022

First 6.5 Grendel Handloads

Good Evening Gentlemen,
    I am new to shooting the 6.5 Grendel and I am more of a deer/hog hunter than I am a long range target shooter so it is somewhat difficult to find hunting loads in store or on line. My only option was to handload. Therefore I began work on my first handloads ever. I followed a Hornady recipe as the components necessary for it happened to be in stock. My load consists of using new Starline 6.5 Brass, No. 400 CCI Small Rifle Primers, Winchester 748, and Hornady's 0.264" 129 gr. Interlock Soft Points. Below from the Hornady Reloading Manual.
    001.JPG

I actually worked this load backwards. I loaded 5 rounds at 29.5 gr. of 6.5 Grendel. Each iteration of handloads were 0.3 grains less than the previous. I know that when I shoot them for grouping to start with the lowest powder grain weight and work my way up checking the brass for pressure signs. My question is how far back do I need to go with my powder grain weights? Are my 5 iterations a reasonable spread or should I consider doing more? (The paper pouches are holding 5 rounds each).
    01_25.jpg

02_25.jpg

03_25.jpg

04_25.jpg
  • Zeneffect
    Chieftain
    • May 2020

If it were me, 28.9 would be my lowest/starting charge and based on results, I'd probably explore a touch over the listed max because I'm one of "those guys"

Others may have a very different opinion, but hey it's my face on the line.

Comment

• Klem
      Chieftain
      • Aug 2013

RAR,