• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • garikfox
    Bloodstained
    • Mar 2023

Ammo confusion

Hello Friends, I'm confused on which ammo is best. I thought I studied on which was the best ammo to get so I purchased 11 boxes of AA 123gr. (which I'm hoping doesn't use lead free primers.)

After reading here It's looking like people are mostly using Hornady ammo? Should I get some Hornady ammo too?

Thanks,
    -Garik

Last edited by garikfox; 05-29-2023, 04:04 PM.
    WC 6mm ARC 18", ATLAS S-ONE, AERO M4E1 LWR, MAGPUL MOE SL, ZEISS Conquest V4 4-16x44mm
    CMMG 5.7x28mm 16", AERO X15 LWR, MAGPUL MOE SL, MEOPTA OPTIKA5 2-10x42mm
    RUGER-5.7 / GLOCK 43 / GLOCK 19 Gen5
  • LRRPF52
    Super Moderator
    • Sep 2014

The Alexander Arms ammo is premium ammo, the first source of ammo since the introduction of 6.5 Grendel.

The 123gr Lapua Scenar is an excellent target load for shooting at distance due to the high BC of that bullet.

Hornady has been popular due to pricing and quality, but prices have gone up over the past 3 years on everything ammo-related much more than other consumer products.
    NRA Basic, Pistol, Rifle, Shotgun, RSO

CCW, CQM, DM, Long Range Rifle Instructor

6.5 Grendel Reloading Handbooks & chamber brushes can be found here:

www.AR15buildbox.com

Comment

• Mesa1978
      Warrior
      • May 2015

Across my 4 Grendels, I get better groups with Alexander Arms Lapua 123 than with Hornady Black.

Comment

• garikfox
        Bloodstained
        • Mar 2023

Oh okay thanks guys, looks like I'm okay than.

Does anyone know if the AA is lead free or not ?
        WC 6mm ARC 18", ATLAS S-ONE, AERO M4E1 LWR, MAGPUL MOE SL, ZEISS Conquest V4 4-16x44mm

Comment

• VASCAR2
          Chieftain
          • Mar 2011

Comment

• LRRPF52
            Super Moderator
            • Sep 2014

Originally posted by garikfox View Post
            Oh okay thanks guys, looks like I'm okay than.

Does anyone know if the AA is lead free or not ?