• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Koda
    Bloodstained
    • Jun 2023

97g Absolute Hammer powders

I'll be working up a load with the 97g Absolute Hammers. The powders I have on hand are A2520, CFE223, and Leverevolution (HLVR).

I know that Hammers have no published load data but I have some experience loading them and finding starting points with similar bullets from published data. Ive also consulted the Hammer load data spreadsheet...

I find very little on my bullet and powder selections except A2520 Ive managed to come up with a starting point.

If anyone has any info on CFE or HLVR id be grateful?

I do find some data on HLVR but those loading it favor the 123g bullets, is HLVR better suited for the heavier bullets and not so ideal for lighter bullets?
  • VASCAR2
    Chieftain
    • Mar 2011

Barnes has 100 grain TTSX data using H-335 and IMR8208XBR plus other powders which should give you a safe starting point.

Hornady 8th edition has CFE223 data for 100 grain soft point, start load 26.5 grains max load 30.3.

Nosler has load data online for 100 grain Nosler Partition and 100 grain Ballistic Tip.

Sierra has load data for their 100 grain varmint bullet which is a cup and core bullet but should give a safe starting pont. Sierra show good velocities with Power Pro Varmint but no data for CFE223 or LeveRevolution. Benchmark is a common powder recommended with 100 grain bullets and has decent temperature stability.

I used CFE 223 with 85 grain Sierra Varmint and got good accuracy and velocity. Most of my 85 to 107 grain bullets have been loaded with Accurate 2230, Xterminator, IMR8208XBR, TAC and H-335.

Comment

• Koda
      Bloodstained
      • Jun 2023

Originally posted by VASCAR2 View Post
      Barnes has 100 grain TTSX data using H-335 and IMR8208XBR plus other powders which should give you a safe starting point.

Hornady 8th edition has CFE223 data for 100 grain soft point, start load 26.5 grains max load 30.3.