• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Tyrone Slothrop
    Unwashed
    • May 2023

Minimum safe COL

I've been reloading for a lot of years but I'm new to the 6.5G.

I bought a couple of Amend 2 poly mags to round out my build. Turns out cartridges loaded to the spec 2.26" can not be properly loaded into the magazine. If I seat them to 2.21" they function fine. Maybe it is an overabundance of caution, but I wanted to check with you experts before I ramp the pressure up on an already high-pressure cartridge. Am I approaching any kind of borderline here?

Loads are 120gr PPU HPBT, Starline brass, 29gr CFE 223 and 29.5gr CFE 223, Winchester WSR primers.

(Edited to reflect correct powder name)
    Last edited by Tyrone Slothrop; 09-03-2023, 07:45 PM. Reason: Edited to reflect correct powder name
  • JASmith
    Chieftain
    • Sep 2014

SAAMI Specs for the Grendel read in part:

MIN: 2.135 inches

MAX: 2.260 inches

First takeaway, your 2.21" falls within the specification and should be fine as long as the chamber is also compliant with the SAAMO spec..

Second takeaway, you may have a basis for returning them as defective, especially if you also have trouble loading factory ammunition into the magazines.
    shootersnotes.com

"To those who have fought and almost died for it, freedom has a flavor the protected will never know."
    -- Author Unknown

"If at first you do succeed, try not to look astonished!" -- Milton Berle

Comment

• Zeneffect
      Chieftain
      • May 2020

Get different mags. You are doing yourself a disservice going any shorter than 2.26 if you are a hand loader.

Comment

• Klem
        Chieftain
        • Aug 2013

Tyrone,