IMR 4064 (Russian 4895)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• IMR 4064 (Russian 4895)

Has anybody tried IMR 4064 in 6.5 grendel? I have 4#s of Jeff Bartlett Russian 4895 (which says load with IMR 4064 load data).

Thanks in advance for your $0.02.

I haven't seen anyone using it. I asked the same question awhile back because I have some 4064 on hand. Opinion was it's to slow for the Grendel.

Comment

I was hoping that there was a load for IMR4895 but I haven't seen one yet.

Comment

• rasp65
        Warrior
        • Mar 2011

You can always try to find a load. With a 123 A-Max 25.5 gr of 4064 is about 100% density you would probably max out at around 27.5 gr, but you would want to start around 23 and watch for pressure signs. This is just a guideline I have no experience with this powder so be prudent.

Comment

I dont have the records but a few year ago I shot up about 100 rounds made with 4064. Used 50 120 gr Nbt. I filled up the case. Recoil was low. Point of impact was 1 1/2-2 inches low at 100 yards. accuracy was <1". Also shot up maybe 50 Hornady 129grSSTs. Same procedure -used a full case. Point of impact was 2-3 inches below where it hit usually with a 18 " barrel 1 inch low using a 24" barrel . Groups were maybe 2 1/2-3 inchs in all cases. I was not happy with 4064

Comment

Originally posted by hm2 clark View Post
            I dont have the records but a few year ago I shot up about 100 rounds made with 4064. Used 50 120 gr Nbt. I filled up the case. Recoil was low. Point of impact was 1 1/2-2 inches low at 100 yards. accuracy was <1". Also shot up maybe 50 Hornady 129grSSTs. Same procedure -used a full case. Point of impact was 2-3 inches below where it hit usually with a 18 " barrel 1 inch low using a 24" barrel . Groups were maybe 2 1/2-3 inchs in all cases. I was not happy with 4064
            By filled up the case, you mean to the top, completely full? Then you compressed down the powder when seating the bullet?