Hornady 123SST Load Data

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hornady 123SST Load Data

With all the posts about the 123 SSTs coming out I thought I would start a post on load data.

I have never done load development on a brand new bullet. I am fairly new to reloading but I am assuming loads close to the 123 AMAX would be a good reference point? I welcome your thoughts and suggestions on what loads to start with with. I use:

Lapua brass
    CCI450s
    CFE 223 and 8208 on hand but willing to try anything

Starting powder charge suggestions?

How far off the lands to start? Maybe the 129 SSTs is a good place to start with this question. I am just not sure.

I am excited about this new bullet. This should be a lot of fun.

Using CFE223 I would start at 31g and work toward 32.5g in .3g increments. Load 5 rounds of each weight. Measure the OAL for the 123g SST in your chamber and start at a seating depth that is about .010" from throat free bore (or the lands). Choose the best group per charge weight, and shoot a larger sample at varying distances to confirm accuracy.

Comment

If you can afford QuickLoad software I recommend buying it. I've been running different scenarios and powders through QL and have narrowed my 123 SMK powder to AR-Comp. AR-Comp gives great load density and fps compared to 10x, 4198, 8208, Varget, H335 to name a few. If you provide me with COAL, barrel length, case capacity (h2o volume), bullet OAL and Min/max diameter of the boat tail and the length of the boattail; i could calc the predicted speed and pressures.

Comment

Are you loading for a bolt action or AR? Loading to the lands may not be possible in an AR or bolt action if you are using a magazine; you are constrained by the mags max internal length

Comment

BLDtyLRY: