• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • TexN
    Unwashed
    • Apr 2017

New Grendel Build Questions

Ok Im looking to jump into the Grendel but being a Grendel newb I want to run my barrel setup by everyone first as these chamberings and bolt types get a little confusing. Im wanting to get a 12.5" and 18", the 12.5 will be my knock around, carry everywhere hunting rifle. The 18" will be just for hunting and target. I hunt deer and hogs but we have recently had a major influx of hogs again, now coming up to the house (may have to use the 300blk) til I can get the 6.5 going. Im planning on just using quality factory ammo, and do have a Sico Omega 300 coming in this month too.

12.5";
    -saami chamber
    -.136 bolt
    -carbine gas
    -1:7 twist

18";
    -saami chamber
    -.136" bolt
    -mid gas?
    -1:7 or 1:8 twist?

Ive read that the 18" needs the mid length gas system and that 1:8 twist is fine but I see some including AA using 1:7.5, so I dont know if the 1:7 will be that bad in the 18, but I dont really know? Ive been looking through some barrel mfgs but of course would like to get all this hammered out before hand . Sorry if this sounds a little erratic but Im trying to keep all of this straight -Thanks in advance
  • Bigs28
    Chieftain
    • Feb 2016

For your short barrel their is a 12.7" group buy going on right now.

Comment

• Kswhitetails
      Chieftain
      • Oct 2016

If I were you, I’d head to the group buy section and get in on the 18 and 12.7” group buys and snatch up bolts for both with them. I’d do it soon all three are getting close to full/ sold out: if they aren’t already.