Clear All
  • alpha0815
    Unwashed
    • Jun 2019

Few questions on barrel selection

• Blackops_1
    Unwashed
    • May 2019

I'm researching building a Grendel and was told go with a longer gas system if you go 18". You can do ILGS or RLGS. Rifle is the most common so that's what I'll use since most data will support it. Both X-Caliber and Criterion are great manuf's. I was recommended X-Caliber or PF, so really no bad choices here. These are all some of the top tier options.

Btw I'm curious why you picked a JP bolt since your not looking at their barrels? Does JP not make an 18' you like? Considering that bolts and barrels are made to a certain tolerance level at a price point. It is logical that the barrel and bolt being matched together by the same manuf. will reduce tolerance stacking. But I'm no expert so I'll be following along, my .02.

Comment

• grayfox
      Chieftain
      • Jan 2017

Several threads on here that discuss this; upshot IIRC is that for 18" especially suppressed, the RLGS is the way to go.
      "Down the floor, out the door, Go Brandon Go!!!!!"

Comment

• Rosecrans1
        Warrior
        • Feb 2019

Make sure the JP bolt is a Grendel II bolt. Most barrels are Grendel II. JP Products may not be. IMHO, it's best to buy the matching bolt with the barrel.

Comment

• A5BLASTER
          Chieftain
          • Mar 2015

Originally posted by Rosecrans1 View Post
          Make sure the JP bolt is a Grendel II bolt. Most barrels are Grendel II. JP Products may not be. IMHO, it's best to buy the matching bolt with the barrel.
          The JP bolt is spec'd for a .136 bolt face depth. That is the depth used for the sammi grendel chamber when headspacing the bolt.

Grendel II is a wildcat abortion chamber and has nothing too do with the bolt face depth.