• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • GREYBUFF
    Warrior
    • Nov 2018

Lucky 1000 yard shot?

After killing my little buck last week with the GRENDEL, I put a new Nikon P Tactical MOA 3-9 scope on it and took it out today to site it in. We were in the central AZ. Desert at a cool 55 degrees with bright sunshine, and slight wind coming out of the SW.
    After zeroing it at 100 yards, I started looking for large rocks across the canyon in front of us to shoot at. Hit one at 375 yard, then one at 500. As I was looking for something a little farther out I noticed a white spot off in the distance so I put the scope on it and it appeared to be a steel plate. Checked it with the spotting scope and sure enough it was a man target at 1000 yards+.
    GF started spotting for me and could not see any hits because the background was brush behind it and a rockslide below. I spotted a dirt area about 75 yards in front, so I started shooting at it to figure out where my hits were and once I had the correct setting for the dirt I moved back to the steel and on the second or third shot my girlfriend shouted "hit dead center". Couldn't repeat the shot but ended up finding another steel target at about 750 yards and dinged it several times. I was using factory
    123 gr Hornady ammo. Can't wait to get my final reloads worked up so I can do some real long range work.

AERO M4E lower
    Hardened Arms upper
    Odin Works Zulu II stock
    Nikon P Tactical 3-9
    I thought about selling my weapons back to the government, but after a thorough background check it was determined that the buyer has a long history of violence and is mentally unstable. Therefore could not pass NICS.
  • Javman
    Warrior
    • Jan 2016

Nice! Fun to shoot the Grr!

Comment

• VASCAR2
      Chieftain
      • Mar 2011

Did your scope have enough elevation to dial in for the extended range or was this all Ky windage at the man size steel target? Either way lots of fun and addicting.

Comment