What do you guys think of these marks on the brass?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Bretandry
    Bloodstained
    • May 2021

What do you guys think of these marks on the brass?

New barrel three rounds test fire..all three show these marks and you can feel them. I am leaning to reem chatter as the possible cause. What say the masses?20220701_165407.jpg
  • kmon
    Chieftain
    • Feb 2015

Small rings below the neck/shoulder little rough chamber (needs polishing) in that part, like you say chatter. Small ding there perhaps from small bur in the chamber or striking sharp spot on chambering. Does the small cut/scratch show up on a chambered then ejected round or only fired rounds?

Comment

• Bretandry
      Bloodstained
      • May 2021

It's brand new I asked for the test brass to be Hornady and sent to me with the new upper i have not fired a round through it yet. I am no chamber expert so i was hoping to get some education and not be unreasonable when dealing with the builder. I am kinda leaning to the barrel should be replaced or repaired

Comment

• Former Cav
        Bloodstained
        • Aug 2019

I HAD a BCA barrel that had a cut mark (tool mark) in the chamber and it would occasionally cause a failure to extract. I got rid of it and replaced it with a Krieger barrel. Interesting that the groups did NOT improve much. I wrote BCA about it but they never replied. Guess you can't expect much for a cheap bottom tier builder. Course I was about 1 year after purchase due to the HOT weather in Phoenix.

Comment

• ported45
          Warrior
          • Feb 2018

Originally posted by Former Cav View Post