• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • 68wicked
    Unwashed
    • Dec 2016

muzzle brakes and why

Ok I'm new to the AR world. Can someone enlighten me on why I see so many AR 15 set ups with brakes. Am I missing something I'm old school bolt and I only had one rifle that I had a brake on 300 ultra mag. 223 is like 3.5lb recoil my 300 blackout is around 5lb and I think that my Grendel I'm building with adjustable gas block and weight should come in in or under the blackout in recoil. Thank you.
  • Klem
    Chieftain
    • Aug 2013

A lot of brakes are actually flash eliminators and are on civilian firearms for cosmetic reasons. Unless you are seriously into prepping where you convince yourself a flash eliminator will confound the bad guys as you sneak around doing your thing when society collapses. Others have flash eliminators because it is de-rigueur on a military style rifle.

Those that do have proper muzzle brakes are wanting to lessen recoil, not because they have to but because it helps with muzzle rise in light guns and keeps the sight system closer to the aiming point for quicker follow-up shots. You can also often see the splash on distant targets rather than having to rely on a spotter.

Finally, if you are prepared to put up with a louder firing point, spending a bit more money and a slightly longer barrel you get less recoil. Less recoil is always better than more so it's up to you and whether you think is worth it.

Your adjustable gas is not going to change the felt recoil of that Grendel. A muzzle brake and the weight of the gun will however.

How have you determined those recoil figures (3.5 and 5lbs)?

Comment

• terrywick4
      Warrior
      • Sep 2014

Originally posted by Klem View Post

Your adjustable gas is not going to change the felt recoil of that Grendel.
      (3.5 and 5lbs)?