• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Peregrine
    Bloodstained
    • Dec 2017

Break in/zero ammo recommendations

Not sure exactly where to ask this question, but I’m FINALLY about to assemble my build. Does anyone have any ammo recommendations for breaking in a barrel (Faxon 18” group buy) and zeroing (4-16x50 Nikon FX1000). I’m really new to rifles, so please excuse my ignorance on this subject.

Recommended number of rounds? Any links to specific ammo would be greatly appreciated. I’m hoping that at a minimum I can fire a few rounds this weekend to make sure things are cycling properly.

Thanks in advance.
    Gun control means using both hands.
  • Crusty
    Warrior
    • Dec 2017

Here's the Dez Arms break in procedure which seemed reasonable to me.

I just bought an FX100 6-24 and based on it I think you'll really like that scope.
    I'll be yer Huckleberry.

Comment

• Popeye212
      Chieftain
      • Jan 2018

Here is the Ballistic Advantage break in

Decent ammo is ok I wouldn't run Match (expensive) or steel

Comment

• Wafavre2
        Warrior
        • Feb 2017

I suggest you purchase factory 123 gr rounds and follow the Barrels Manufactures recommended break in procedure. After sight in, establish a base line with a few different factory loads of the same bullet weight, different bullet makers are ok as long as you keep a log book so you can compare notes down the road. If it's a low cost barrel then shoot Wolf Steel and buy a couple extra extractors, if it's an expensive barrel don't shoot steel ammo. Take your time to learn your barrel and work out any ftf, fte issues. Save your brass and get into reloading to get the most out of your setup. Oh and have fun!

Will

Comment

• mdewitt71
          Warrior
          • Dec 2016

I just shoot it.....
          Shoot it and clean it and shoot it some more.
          I do not shoot the Wolf crap and put the Hornady stuff thru the barrel for the first 100 rounds before i went to handloads.